Skip to main content

Accessibility: Welcome

This guide will help staff at TAFE NSW Riverina to better understand accessibility requirements for use in information and training resources

Welcome to accessibility

Image courtesy of Flickr, Jil Wright, "Web accessibility word cloud"


What is accessibility?

All government websites must comply with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) level AA by December 31, 2014

WCAG 2.0 aims to make web content more accessible. A more accessible website will allow people with disabilities such as low vision, learning disabilities, limited movement, hearing loss or deafness, or speech disabilities. Whilst the guidelines aim to improve access to people with disabilities, users in general can find accessible websites easier to use.

What does an accessible website look like?

Websites need to be:

  • Perceivable
  • Operable
  • Understandable
  • Robust

For more details, go to WCAG 2.0 at a glance

Web accessibility

Introduction to digital accessibility

Here's 15 tips to make your website and internet content better for all users.

Please note, this refers to English standards as well as WCAG 2.0